A Very Good Day

Today, so far at least, is a very good day. Here’s why:

  • It’s freakin’ gorgeous out. Near 70 and sunny. Just biked through town without a jacket, and it felt great.
  • I just had an excellent interview with an American woman who opened the first American-style coffee shop in Berlin back in 1993. She’s widely credited (or at least credits herself) for the boom in American cafes and restaurants that’s ensued. It’s for a story on the changing American expat scene I’m writing for the FAZ, which should be a fun one. Best of all, I was treated to a delicious home-roasted, home-brewed coffee (which I’d been missing) and an even more delicious “New York special” — lox and cream cheese and tomato and onion on a homemade bagel (which I’d been craving).
  • I’m expecting a story of mine to appear in Foreign Policy magazine today (or sometime soon).
  • And, to top it all off, as I was locking up my bike outside the office just now, I noticed a few guys in suits, and a photographer standing around the back entrance to Dussmann, a big bookstore nextdoor. I decided to see what was going on — and out came Angela Merkel, the German chancellor. Apparently she’d just done some sort of book event inside. I snapped a hasty photo from the back (which I’ll upload later) and watched as she went into a black car. Compared to Washington, where a long, loud motorcade always tips you off to an important politician well in advance, there was shockingly little security or hubbub.

Anyway, let’s see what else the day has in store.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Very Good Day

  1. Pingback: That Merkel Photo | Ein Berliner, Briefly

Leave a Reply

