Not to Keep Harping on This

But the Berliner Zeitung had a chart this weekend showing just how shitty the weather was here in August. The average temperature was 18.9 degrees Celsius (66 Fahrenheit); the high hit 30 degrees (86 Fahrenheit) only once (the day I went to the beach); and the low was 10.4 degrees (50 Fahrenheit). What’s more, the sun shone for a total of 149 hours in August, 70 fewer than usual and averaging under five hours a day.

Just to rub it in, as I sat in an outdoor cafe reading this, warm jacket zipped up, moving every two minutes to catch the tiny bit of sun peeking through the trees, Cheryl Crow’s “Soak Up the Sun” played on the radio inside the cafe. (Yes, I had to look up the artist; no, I don’t know any of Cheryl Crow’s stuff post-middle school.)

I had a dream last night that my dad and I were going to some remote part of Bavaria for a few days to enjoy some warmth and good beer. Wouldn’t that be nice…

(Last post on the weather unless something freakish happens. I promise. And weather aside, my life here remains great. Just, you know, mostly indoors.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

