How Germany Is Not Like America, Personal Information Edition

The personal information form I have to fill out for the FAZ doesn’t ask me about my race. It doesn’t ask me about my gender or ethnicity. But it does ask me about my religion. The three options are:

-evangelisch (Protestant)
-römisch-katholisch (Roman Catholic)
-sonstige (other)

Considering on the one hand that a poll by Der Spiegel found that only 45% of Germans believe in God and quarter in Jesus Christ, and on the other hand that 5% of the population (and growing) is Muslim, not to mention that, you know, historic marginalization of Jews, I’m a little surprised.

Oh, and I left it blank.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How Germany Is Not Like America, Personal Information Edition

  1. Rarehero says:

    Well, it took as 40 years to understand, that we have a problem with immigrants (the problem aren’t the people of course but the fact that we didn’t do the things that are necessary to make a home for those people), it might take as further 40 years to understand, that we have a growing Islamic society in Germany. And don’t wait for us to understand, that there are even more religions in the world (and in Germany). It won’t happen. I guess we just don’t pay much to religion in every day life since we have such a strict separation between religions and politics.

Leave a Reply

