Snapshots of My Life in Berlin

A quick visual tour of my new home and hood. Click on photos to enlarge.

My building, on Köpenicker Str. in Kreuzberg, half a block from Schlesisches Tor. If the building ain't much to look at, well, the "lobby" and stairwell won't do much for you, either.

My room, on the other hand, is lovely, large, and bright.

Skalitzer Str. is the main street through my part of Kreuzberg. Here, some graffiti on Skalitzer Str. of ... Skalitzer Str., and the U1 elevated subway.

My U-Bahn, the U1, pulls into Schlesisches Tor station. This train was the first I rode in Berlin.

The Oberbaumbrücke, over the Spree River, connects Kreuzberg and Friedrichshain -- described to me as "like Kreuzberg, but more punk."

On my first day in town, I wandered into Alexanderplatz and found these musicians, from Texas and England and elsewhere, playing some of my favorite music. Here, they do a rollicking Folsom Prison Blues in unison. I wanted to meet up with them later to play a bit, but alas, they were headed for Amsterdam the next day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Snapshots of My Life in Berlin

  1. Bix says:

    awesome apartment!

  2. Hi Aaron,

    Is this your first fan mail from a native British Berliner? — good to know you’re here – not just for the beer. Looking forward to your continuing adventures and seeing what captures your camera eye. And to reading your FAS column.
    Best wishes,
    Karen M.

  3. Pingback: The East Side Gallery | Ein Berliner, Briefly

  4. Pingback: Well That Was Brief | Ein Berliner, Briefly

  5. Pingback: My new ‘hood « Das Berlin Blog

Leave a Reply

